a note regarding travel

I’ve ever only known travelling alone, and honestly, I don’t think I’d want it any other way, now. Take pride in your selfishness, as this is one of the few times in your life you’ll be able to. There is almost a child-like excitement to it; I can eat what I want when I want, I can have a lazy day or an exhausting day- I can choose whether I want a night of luxury in a hotel or save a few pounds by staying in a noisy and busy hostel where I’ll leave with a ton of new friends. I’m not saying travelling with a partner holds you back but… well, yes, it does, even if you tell yourself you enjoy it. It’s so important to be able to spend time by yourself and I can’t understand people who can’t do that at all- not even for a walk, lazy Sunday afternoon, or just a quick coffee stop. Because after the first time you do something by yourself, the more you can keep adding to it, until, before you know it, you’re able to travel through a city or country or village or town or wherever by yourself. It’s a bit like running a very long race- you can cover shorter distances first to build up for the main event. My favourite part of travelling is that it is all mine and I do not have to share it with anyone else. The experiences I have are all for me, and when I make friends along the way, I know they are like-minded people as we have crossed paths. So, if you’re consideringΒ taking a trip and/or travelling by yourself, I certainly implore you to do so. You can’t regret it πŸ™‚

One thought on “a note regarding travel

Leave a Reply

