5 ways to pack efficiently!

When it comes to packing, I am both Monica Gellar and Rachel Green. I love the planning process; researching the weather, planning outfits, and visually locating all the essentials (mobile charger wire tangled up with hair straighteners, small notebooks hidden between thick books- but I know where they are!).

Then Rachel Green appears, where the actual packing comes into action. Suddenly, I’ve gone off every outfit I’ve planned, something essential needs washing, and I have to take a larger hand luggage bag to accommodate the extra items I’m taking with me!

1
Source: http://giphy.com/search/rachel-green

I am slowly learning, though, so here are 5 of the best ways to pack efficiently when you’re travelling:

 

      Roll up, roll up
      When you’ve narrowed it down to what clothes you’re actually taking, tightly roll them up and you’ll find that you’ll be able to fit so much more in- take advantage of every nook and cranny like stuffing socks into shoes and jewellery/toiletries inside bags!

 

      Learn to mix and match
      I wrote a post about how you can style daytime into nighttime without a change of clothes. By focusing on a few key accessories instead of bringing unnecessary extra clothes, it saves room and makes your bag so much lighter.

 

      Pick a cold day to travel
      So obviously this is dependent on when you’re actually able to travel. But seriously though it means you can wear more layers to the airport to prepare yourself for impending coldness! So when I went to Amsterdam in January I wore 2 pairs of socks, 5 tops, a scarf and a hat. Yes that’s right I looked like a lumpy colourful snowman but it was so worth it. *salsa dancer emoji*

      tumblr_m2ez53uWB11qzz578o1_500
      Source: http://www.headoverfeels.com/2013/01/24/kims-top-five-episodes-of-friends/

       
      Take a snap of each outfit
      This screams Monica Gellar, but it works. When I was planning for my weekend in Paris, I actually laid out each individual outfit and took a photo of it! That way when it came to pack I didn’t have any of those ‘oh but then there’s this top which might go with these jeans if we go to this kind of bar/restaurant/park/zoo’ etc. I could see exactly what I was going to wear and so didn’t pack any unnecessary weight.

 

      Shoes
      Shoes can definitely take up the most room, as it’s easy to pack so many ‘just in case’ pairs! Nowadays I just take a pair of trainers and plain black flats that I know will go with everything; a pair for the day, a pair for the evening. But if you’re travelling for a longer period of time, then you know you can just invest in things once you’re out there.

 

 

friends_episode180_337x233_032020061517
Source: http://fitthepump.blogspot.co.uk/2011/06/whoever-made-these-hates-feet-and-wants_20.html

 

So those were my top tips! Do you have any others that I’ve missed out? Let me know in the comments below!

 

10 thoughts on “5 ways to pack efficiently!

  1. I love the idea of taking a picture of your outfit before you go- that would definitely save some “I have nothing to wear!” moments on the road!

  2. I feel hopeless when it comes to packing. I’ve got so many tips that I’m trying to think of during travels, but I always leave it for the last moment. I’ve been on the road for last 2 years. I’ve got stuff that I just can’t get rid of and they live inside my suitcase, taking space. Nighmare! But I roll. That’s the only thing I’ve learned. Plus cutting soap;)

  3. This is so alien to me. Maybe it’s a man thing. Chuck some jeans, t-shirts and maybe a jumper into the bag and hope for the best! As long as you’ve got enough undies, ypu can’t go wrong.

      1. Maybe, also I think it depends on what you’re doing, where you’re going, how long for etc.! As long as you’re taking care of the personal hygiene side then pack what you like haha!

Leave a Reply

