Easy Recipe Of The Day!

Whilst I’m not a  vegetarian, I don’t feel the need to eat meat with every meal. Recently, I’ve been trying to eat less meat and only have it with one meal a day.

Last night was one of those nights where I spontaneously decided to use up whatever was left in the fridge, and the result was delicious! I thought I’d share the recipe for you, so here’s my simple vegetable stir fry:

Ingredients (Serves 2)

img_3966 

  • 1 pak choi
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 4-6 broccoli heads
  • 3-4 Shiitake mushrooms
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 250g fried rice (even though my packet is microwaveable I just added it straight into the wok instead)
  • Shaoxing rice wine/Fish sauce (I used both!), Sunflower oil

 

1. Add a tablespoon of sunflower oil to a large wok.

2. Chop the garlic and onion, then fry for a minute.
img_3967

 

3. Throw in the broccoli and fry for a few minutes.

4. Add in the red pepper and shiitake mushrooms, then sprinkle with fish sauce.

5. Add the pak choi, drop in a dash of Shaoxing wine, and mix everything together.

6. Lastly, add in the egg-fried rice, and using two spoons, mix all of the ingredients together until everything is fully cooked.

 

And serve! It’s really that simple. I also added in some reduced-salt soy sauce too. Because of all the different flavours and ingredients, I didn’t really notice that there wasn’t any meat included. Besides, there are many benefits to reducing the amount of meat from your diet; it cuts down on saturated fats, gives you a lower cholesterol, reduces the risk of cancer and helps you to lose weight.

What’s your favourite easy-dish to make? Let me know in the comments below!

 

3 thoughts on “Easy Recipe Of The Day!

  1. Pasta is always a staple in my home, but lately been trying alternative like couscous- can’t believe how simple it is to make it! For healthy options, roasting vegetables is a sure-fire success. 🙂

Leave a Reply

