Leaving China

Currently sat in Beijing Airport, waiting to board my flight, so I thought I would make one last post.

I spent 6 days in Beijing, and in that time I went shopping (lots), to a kung fu show, the summer palace, Tianemen square and some more markets. It was weird being back in Beijing as that was where I started out back in February. The other day I was at a shopping street near my hostel and I came across a night market, which turned out to be the same one I had visited with a couple of others back in February. It sounds really cheesey and cliche but it just made me think of how much had happened and changed between that time, like how much more relaxed and comfortable I feel in China now.

Teaching in China has been great, I was lucky with my contract because the schools basically expected us to play games with the classes for 40 minutes at a time! The pupils I taught were all amazing, so enthuiastic, funny, and of course extremley cute. I can only think of one class from one school that I wouldn’t want to go back to- so out of the 7 schools I worked at I’d say that’s not bad!

Then travelling afterwards was a totally different adventure and experience too. I visited 9 cities (Chengdu, Xian, Chongqing, Guilin, Nanjing, Hangzhou, Shanghai, Qingdao, Beijing) on my own. But it was never lonely because it was so easy just to get talking to the others at the hostels, everyone was in the same position so everyone just got on with it. We didn’t get each others Facebooks, or e-mails, or wechats, or anything like that- we just hung out whilst we were there and carried on with our travels.

I would like to carry on with TEFL but first I’ll have to save up money in order to do so. I’m a bit worried about going home because I’ll be returning to a place where everything is the same, everyone is living the same lives in the same routines, maybe now with a ring or a baby… not that there’s anything wrong with that, but for me it just makes me shudder. I don’t want to be one of those people who gets a job to save up money ‘just for a year’ but 5 years later, I’m still there. It sounds silly at 22 but I’m always aware that I might be running out of time, that I’m not making the most of my life. So hopefully once the holiday blues are over, I’m able to work towards a goal and get back to teaching and travelling in the next 6 months or so πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

